NASL Article Details

Press Release

NASL Elects Board of Directors for 2014 – 2015; Honors Founding Member Laurence Lane during NASL 25th Annual Meeting

NASL, 10/27/2014

October 27, 2014 – The National Association for the Support of Long Term Care (NASL) elected its 2014 – 2015 Board of Directors during the annual meeting of the now 25-year old association. The newly elected officers of the association’s Board of Directors include:


  • President – Garry Pezzano, Genesis Rehab Services
  • Vice President & Medical Services Committee Chair – Martha Schram, Aegis Therapies
  • Vice President & Information Technology Committee Chair – John Damgaard, MatrixCare
  • Treasurer – Martha Shaker, Concept Rehab, Inc.
  • Secretary – James Pagoaga, HCR ManorCare


“NASL has a remarkable Board of Directors, whose proven leadership and passion for providing quality long term and post-acute care is unmatched. We fortunate to have their guidance and support as we work toward our next organizational milestone,” said NASL Executive Vice President Cynthia Morton.

The newly elected and re-elected members of the NASL board are: 


    • Bill Blanchfill, McKesson Medical-Surgical
    • Christine Busby, Signature Rehab Services
    • John Damgaard, MatrixCare
    • Floyd “Doc” DeVore,AOD Software
    • Shawn Halcsik, Evergreen Rehabilitatio
    • Natalie Hooper, RehabPro
    • Tom Jeffers, HillRom
    • Mindy Lankenau, Paragon Rehab, Inc.
    • Sue Olsen, Select Medical Rehabilitation
    • Martha Shaker, Concept Rehab, Inc.

These newly elected officers and board members join current board members including: Ryan Beddingfield, PruittHealth; Mike Capstick, Select Rehabilitation; Chris Castel, Accelerated Care Plus; Guy Cowart, Consonus Healthcare Services; Chuck Czarnik, Brookdale Senior Living; Judy Elmore, AFFIRMA Rehabilitation, Inc.; Terry Evans, DJO, LLC; Margaret Hemm, Restore Therapy; Jim Douthitt, Kindred Healthcare/RehabCare; Peggy Gourgues, Reliant Rehabilitation; Dan Hirschfeld, Genesis Rehab Services; Jan Irwin, Key Rehabilitation; Denise Kelly, Five Star Rehab & Wellness Services; Jack MacDonald, representing the American Health Care Association; Michelle Moore-Andrews, Integra Rehabilitation; Alan Morrison, TridentUSA Health; Sue Olsen, Select Medical; James Pagoaga, HCR ManorCare; Julie Rettberg, ONR, Inc.; Tara Roberts, Nexion Health; Martha Schram, Aegis Therapies; and Laurie Thomas, Hallmark Rehabilitation.

In celebrating its 25th anniversary, NASL's Board honored a founding member, Laurence Lane of Genesis Healthcare. “Larry” Lane and a handful of others in the industry came together 25 years ago in Dallas, Texas to organize an association to represent the ancillary services to nursing facilities and their patients. Larry Lane explained the role of NASL member companies, “NASL is anything but ancillary – NASL members provide necessary medical services. What we do is not incidental, it is essential.” 

Cynthia Morton, Executive Vice President of NASL, said that the founders envisioned an association that was member-driven, and would bring to bear the technical and clinical expertise of clinical staff in the member companies in order to provide that expertise to policymakers struggling with the long term care issues of the day – especially in Medicare Part B services. The association has grown to more than 100 member companies and encompasses providers of rehabilitation therapy, information technology, durable medical equipment, clinical lab, portable x-ray among other interests and long term and post-acute care providers. "NASL is a successful model because NASL members apply expertise to policy problems, not just position statements,” explained Morton. “We have always been about developing solutions and problem-solving, not just problem identification,” concluded the NASL EVP.